Stupid-easy chips and guacamole

3 Jan

Chips and guac

Dig in.

Eating vegan isn’t complex seitan shenanigans and quinoa schemes all the time, you know. Sometimes I just want a simple snack: chips and dip.

For years, I bought packaged tortilla chips, always kind of assuming in the back of my mind that the science behind the tortilla chip was so far beyond me that I should thank the gods of chip manufacturing for relieving me of the burden of figuring it out.

But, as it turns out, you can make them yourself — in less than 15 minutes, mind you — and they’ll be much tastier and a lot cheaper. Plus, you can control your portion sizes by only making as much as you (should) want to eat. This is really helpful for gals like me who like to drown their sorrows in party-size bags of salty snacks on the regular.

Anyhoo.

Here’s how you make tortilla chips…

Tortilla chips

Just pop me in the oven.

  1. Preheat your oven to 350
  2. Grease a cookie sheet (I like organic olive oil spray because I’m super lazy)
  3. Slice up as many tortillas as you wish like pizzas (I do two usually, of Ezekiel 4:9 brand)
  4. Place your little chips-to-be on the cookie sheet
  5. Spray/brush the chips with olive oil
  6. Sprinkle on a little sea salt if you like
  7. Bake for no more than 10 minutes, just until crispy (keep an eye on them, these little guys can burn fast)

Yeah, that’s it. 15 minutes will get you warm, restaurant-grade tortilla chips just begging for a dip in the best guac you’ve ever eaten (says me).

Now, make yourself some guacamole…

I adapted this recipe from acclaimed Food Network star Alton Brown, based on the ingredients I had on hand.

Ingredients

  • 3 peeled and pitted avocados
  • 3 Tbsps lime or lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 10 cherry tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

To the prep!

  1. In a large bowl, coat the avocado goo with the lime or lemon juice (this helps save it from turning a fairly disgusting, yet harmless, shade of brown).
  2. Drain the lime juice into a small bowl and save it (we’ll add it back in later).
  3. Mix in the salt, cumin, and cayenne and mash with a fork until desired consistency (I like my guac a little chunky, but keep on mashing if you like yours smooth).
  4. Fold in the onions, tomatoes, and garlic.
  5. Add 1 Tbsp of the lime or lemon juice you saved earlier.
  6. Enjoy — and share with no one! I mean, you can if you want…but why would you?

See, wasn’t that easy? If you can handle the spice, throw in a diced jalapeño pepper, like Alton recommends, and let me know how that goes for ya.

2 Responses to “Stupid-easy chips and guacamole”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spicy sour cream dip dreams « aunt b's good grub - January 4, 2013

    [...] as a way to 1) run through my sour cream before it went bad on me and 2) have an excuse to eat more homemade tortilla chips. Mission [...]

  2. Avocadopalooza: Creamy Pasta and Chocolate Pudding « aunt b's good grub - January 30, 2013

    [...] are not just for face masks and guacamole, people. In fact, this smoothtastic and B-vitamin-filled Mexican berry (true story, look it up) was [...]

Leave a Reply

Milking Almonds

100% plantbased food 4 life

A Veganable Feast

My personal answer to the question, "Vegan? Really?? But what do you eat?!" ********************************************* Follow me on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AVeganableFeast

What's Your Healthy

FEEL YOUR BEST

Meaty Vegan

Prompting considerable thought; packed with protein. #GoVegan

Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

aroneousaaron

Adventures in mommism, veganism and other isms!

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

Stories of a hard-working waiter

amythevegan

I'm smarter than a 3rd grader but no one will believe me.

cancerkillingrecipe

Just another WordPress.com site

FlexibleVegan

Fast, Easy and Healthy! It can't get easier than this.

Awesome. Vegan. Blog.

Dedicated to health and wellness!

Vegan in Cleveland

Vegan recipes and restaurant reviews from Cleveland

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

