Facon bacon melty breakfast sammich

7 Feb

Melty facon sammie

You don’t need to eat both of us, but you will. Oh yes, you will.

No one, my usually petulant self included, disputes the value of a good breakfast. It stokes your metabolic coals and makes you a bit less likely to eat that entire box of jelly donuts you will later stumble upon in the break room.

In fact, if you want to avoid heart disease, obesity and diabetes, you’d best nosh after you roll out of bed. Here’s some science on the subject, for all you nerds.

My only problem with the most important meal of the day is this: who has time to actually cook something delicious in the a.m., much less to sit down and consume it? Not this lady.

On a typical weekday morning (when I am deprived of the time to indulge in frittata or biscuits and gravy), I usually grab a piece of fruit, slather some peanut butter on a piece of toast and try not to drop it yummy-side down on the floor. And I do this all whilst I hop out the door, simultaneously pulling on pants and struggling to keep a good grip on my car keys clenched between my teeth. I am what they call a disaster “multi-tasker.”

While PB on toast with a side of banana is pretty good, it’s no breakfast of champions. Am I right, Mr. Vonnegut?

Enter the mighty breakfast sandwich, savior of the morning meal.

This here incarnation consists of splendidly good-for-you tempeh facon bacon, on a bed of fresh spinach leaves, sprinkled with some Daiya vegan mozzarella, and perched on a whole wheat homemade biscuit or English muffin drizzled with vegan mayo. This would probably also be good with a slice of tomato, if you dig tomatoes, and I’d love to try it with cheddar versus mozzarella.

Not only is this dish warm and savory, it’s also blessedly fast, easy to assemble, and portable. Plus it needn’t contain chicken, pig or cow products in order to provide you with plenty of protein, fiber, vitamins, and satisfaction in having dragged your butt out of bed.

Everyone's fav Mayonnaise.

Of course, everyone’s favorite Mayonnaise is Patty.

I bought my vegan mayonnaise at the store, but when I run out I plan to make more with one of these recipes.

To keep your breakfast sammich process as quick and easy as promised above, make your facon ahead of time so you’ll have strips ready to go all week long. Then you just need to warm them up in the microwave or throw them on a skillet for a minute.

And now, let’s… Bring home the facon!

Ingredients

  • An 8 ounce pack of tempeh
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 ½ Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 ¼ tsp cumin
  • A dash of cayenne pepper
  • 1 ½ tsp liquid smoke
  • 1 ½ tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper
Marinating facon

Jeez, Carl. Move over!

Facon assembly

  1. Slice up your tempeh length-wise, as thin as you can go without it falling apart. This can be tricky. I’d say shoot for 1/8 of an inch.
  2. Whisk together all of your other ingredients in a shallow dish.
  3. Lay the tempeh strips in the sauce and let them soak up the bacony flavor for a minute or so before turning them over and repeating the process.
  4. When the strips are good and soaked, heat up a large skillet on high, and add a wee bit of olive oil (2 to 3 tsp) or spray it with olive oil spray, before placing your strips in the hot pan.
  5. Drizzle on the leftover sauce and let the tempeh cook for a couple minutes, then carefully flip the strips over with a fork or tongs and cook them on the other side for another couple minutes.
  6. Your strips are “done” when they’re as crispy as you’d like them to be. Place them on parchment paper while they cool off.

Final tip: to make sure the cheeze is properly melty, pop the entire completed sandwich in the microwave for 20 to 30 seconds.

Bon appetite!

3 Responses to “Facon bacon melty breakfast sammich”

  1. Jackie Johnson February 8, 2013 at 1:24 am #

    haha! I also <3 patty, and I'm pretty excited for a new way to use tempeh!

  2. msokane February 10, 2013 at 5:18 pm #

    Looks and sounds pretty yummy! Definitely one thing I miss about my pre-vegan days is the big breakfasts at the diner. This Facon Bacon Melty Breakfast Sammich should satisfy my cravings and nostalgia.
    BTW, thanks for “liking” me on my blog, Mostly Vegan.

    • Bridget February 10, 2013 at 5:23 pm #

      I am also a big breakfast food fan. Huge. I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

Milking Almonds

100% plantbased food 4 life

A Veganable Feast

My personal answer to the question, "Vegan? Really?? But what do you eat?!" ********************************************* Follow me on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AVeganableFeast

What's Your Healthy

FEEL YOUR BEST

Emily Cooks Vegan

Student cooking for vegetarians & vegans

Meaty Vegan

Prompting considerable thought; packed with protein. #GoVegan

Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

aroneousaaron

Adventures in mommism, veganism and other isms!

Gabriel Lucatero Official Website

My Books. My Articles. My Life

amythevegan

I'm smarter than a 3rd grader but no one will believe me.

cancerkillingrecipe

Just another WordPress.com site

FlexibleVegan

Fast, Easy and Healthy! It can't get easier than this.

Awesome. Vegan. Blog.

Dedicated to health and wellness!

Vegan in Cleveland

Vegan recipes and restaurant reviews from Cleveland

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

