Easy-peezy spicy garbanzo bean and kale tacos

4 Mar

Yummy yum spicy chickpea tacos!

Garban-so-easy vegan tacos. Get it? Heh.

When last we met, I promised you, and my dear friend Maggie, a recipe for vegan tacos. Today I deliver. Yumtastically, I might add.

They’re spicy. They’re simple. They’re fast. What’s not to love? And these little guys are packed with protein, fiber, antioxidants and, most importantly, nomnom-ness. The end result reminded me of a chicken taco, only minus bird.

Carl and Michonne =  BFF 4eva

Carl and Michonne = BFF 4eva

And when I say they’re fast, I’m not blowing smoke up your hookah. I whipped these together in about 20 minutes last night as I was racing out to Fat Cat to watch “The Walking Dead.” [Side Note: I lurv that surly pants twins Carl and Michonne are now zombie-slaying besties. You?]

This recipe, with some alterations (as always) comes from one of my favoritest blogs: The Happy Herbivore. Definitely check it out. Head Herbie, Lindsey, recently inspired me to shift to a low-to-no-oil life. That’s going slowly at the moment, but I’m figuring it out. I’ll keep you updated. In the meantime, if you guys have any oil-free tips, lay ‘em on me.

Anyhoo, back to your food…

Ingredients

  • 15 ½ ounces (1 can) garbanzo beans (aka chickpeas), drained and rinsed
  • 1 ounce taco seasoning (recipe below, or use a packet if you have one)
  • 1 Tbsp tamari or soy sauce
  • 2 tsp lemon or lime juice
  • 8 taco shells, soft or crunchy
  • 1 avocado
  • 12 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 2 leaves Toscana kale, sliced into strips and sans stem

Taco Seasoning Ingredients

  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (omit these if you’re a big baby you want to tone down the spice)
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper

Taco time!

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together the taco seasoning, tamari/soy sauce and lemon/lime juice.
  2. Add your drained and rinsed chickpeas to the mix, and then stir them gently with a spatula or spoon until they’re all coated.
  3. Let your little pea friends stew in their spicy bath while you wait for the oven to heat to 400 degrees.
  4. Throw a piece of tinfoil on a cookie sheet and spray it with canola or olive oil before spreading the chickpeas out in an even layer. Warning: I would seriously advise against skipping the foil, as the sauce will indeed harden and become a beyotch to clean off your pan.
  5. Bake the lot for about 20 to 25 minutes, or until they meet your crunch requirements.
  6. If you’re using soft tortillas, as I did, warm them up on a skillet over medium heat for one or two minutes on each side.
  7. Spread some avocado, as much as you like, on the inside of each taco shell or tortilla, add a spoonful or two of the chickpeas, then top with the kale and tomatoes and — voila! — vegan tacos are yours to enjoy.

I will say that when I first made these, I had some salsa at the ready. But, as it turns out, the chickpeas come out of the oven so flavorful, especially when combined with the creamy avocado, they truly didn’t require any more topping.

Bon appetite!

6 Responses to “Easy-peezy spicy garbanzo bean and kale tacos”

  1. Jackie March 5, 2013 at 1:52 am #

    when I’m craving tacos i usually add a similar taco seasoning to soy crumbles…but this sounds way healthier. Def have to give it a go

    • Bridget March 5, 2013 at 8:10 am #

      Cheaper too. ;0)

      • Maggie March 7, 2013 at 7:41 am #

        Thanks for a recipe inspired by me, B! These sound quite yummy! :) I will have to give the vegan version a shot, sans avocado unfortunately.

      • Bridget March 7, 2013 at 7:59 am #

        You should use your Maggie salsa instead of the avocado.

      • Jackie Johnson March 10, 2013 at 9:42 am #

        Made this for dinner saturday and also grabbed your homemade tortilla chips recipe. Aunt B saves dinner!! : D keep up the yummiliciousness.

      • Bridget March 10, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

        Hooray! :-) I shall indeed.

Leave a Reply

Milking Almonds

100% plantbased food 4 life

A Veganable Feast

My personal answer to the question, "Vegan? Really?? But what do you eat?!" ********************************************* Follow me on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AVeganableFeast

What's Your Healthy

FEEL YOUR BEST

Emily Cooks Vegan

Student cooking for vegetarians & vegans

Meaty Vegan

Prompting considerable thought; packed with protein. #GoVegan

Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Gabriel Lucatero's SYL101

My Books. My Articles. My Life

aroneousaaron

Adventures in mommism, veganism and other isms!

amythevegan

I'm smarter than a 3rd grader but no one will believe me.

cancerkillingrecipe

Just another WordPress.com site

FlexibleVegan

Fast, Easy and Healthy! It can't get easier than this.

Awesome. Vegan. Blog.

Dedicated to health and wellness!

Vegan in Cleveland

Vegan recipes and restaurant reviews from Cleveland

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

