Super Green Thai Curry Tofu

22 Mar

"It's actually easy being green." - My curry

Delightfully tasty and yet somehow still good for you. No lies.

Green Thai curry tofu is one of my more healthy obsessions. (Versus the compulsive re-watching of “One Tree Hill,” which probably falls into the “unhealthy” category).

I have been known to order this dish melt-my-tongue-out-of-my-skull-spicy style from my favoritest Thai take-out place three times a week. Three times.

As you can imagine, this addiction to spice got real expensive real fast, and I’ve been forced to learn how to do this little old thing myself.

This was only my first go at a curry dish, so I wussed out and bought some green Thai curry paste (fish-oil-less, natch). I did, however, promise myself that if it went well, I’d make the paste from scratch next time. And it did! So, stay tuned for a from-scratch adjustment to this post down the road.

As you can see, when I say “green” curry I don’t play. This ingredient list reminds me of Diddy’s white party, only all the VIP veggies are dressed in green. In my imagination Oprah is a bell pepper.

Eat your greens.

Well, that’s what I heard him say anyway.

Why so much green, you ask?

Well, turns out Popeye was totally right about not just spinach, but all green veggies, especially the leafy kind. Aside from being loaded with minerals including iron, calcium, potassium, and magnesium as well as vitamins K, C, E, and many of the B vitamins, the nutrients in green veggies help protect cells from damage, improve immune function and can help protect our eyes from age-related disease. Vitamin K alone can help regulate blood clotting and may help prevent and reduce inflammation, protecting us from inflammatory diseases including arthritis. And they’ve even been linked to reductions in certain forms of cancer.

Bottom line? Eat yo’ greens.

And now…

Green Thai curry tofu
Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 1 lb extra firm tofu, drained and cubed
  • 2 cups coconut milk
  • 3-4 Tbsp green curry paste
  • 1 cup + 2 Tbsp vegetable broth
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce or Tamari
  • 1Tbsp lime juice
  • 5 green onions, finely chopped, dark green parts separated from white and pale green parts
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 cups spinach, sliced into ribbons
  • ½ cup green beans
  • ½ cup broccoli florets
  • ½ green pepper, diced
  • 1 can bamboo shoots, drained
  • 2 asparagus spears, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1 Tbsp fresh basil, minced
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp fresh cilantro, minced and divided
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 1 tsp agave nectar
  • Sea salt, to taste

Get your spice on!

  1. Heat a large, non-stick wok or pan and add the white and pale green portions of the chopped onions and 2 tablespoons of veggie broth. Cook the onions until they start to get soft.
  2. Add the garlic, curry paste and a tablespoon of the cilantro and cook the lot until you can smell the amazing curry smell. (That should take about a minute).
  3. Stir in the coconut milk, vegetable broth, soy sauce and tofu.
  4. Bring the mix to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for about 5 minutes.
  5. Stir in the lime juice and agave nectar and salt to taste.
  6. Add your many, many greens (spinach, green beans, broccoli, green pepper, bamboo shoots, dark green bits of the onions, asparagus, basil and the remaining cilantro) and stir well.
  7. Cover the pan and simmer, stirring every so often, until the veggies are tender enough for your taste.
  8. Serve over brown rice.

Bon appetit! 

Before I go, I’ll share with you the three important lessons I learned while making this dish:

1) More spice is always better for B. I only used two tablespoons of my curry paste, and while the result was yummy, it was not nearly hot enough for my taste. My eyes didn’t even water! Thusly, I’ve doubled the amount. Good luck!

2) I need a wok. Or a larger frying pan. Or a frying pan with a lid that fits. I made quite a mess.

3) I also need a rice cooker. This dish would have been super quick to throw together if the rice hadn’t taken 45 minutes. Curse you, rice! Any recommendations from the peanut gallery?

Leave a Reply

Milking Almonds

100% plantbased food 4 life

A Veganable Feast

My personal answer to the question, "Vegan? Really?? But what do you eat?!" ********************************************* Follow me on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AVeganableFeast

What's Your Healthy

FEEL YOUR BEST

Emily Cooks Vegan

Student cooking for vegetarians & vegans

Meaty Vegan

Prompting considerable thought; packed with protein. #GoVegan

Better Bites

My experiments in healthy eating, cooking, and living

Gluten Free Gus

Baking Joy Into Every Gluten-free Bite

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Gabriel Lucatero's SYL101

My Books. My Articles. My Life

aroneousaaron

Adventures in mommism, veganism and other isms!

amythevegan

I'm smarter than a 3rd grader but no one will believe me.

cancerkillingrecipe

Just another WordPress.com site

FlexibleVegan

Fast, Easy and Healthy! It can't get easier than this.

Awesome. Vegan. Blog.

Dedicated to health and wellness!

Vegan in Cleveland

Vegan recipes and restaurant reviews from Cleveland

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 131 other followers

